Foundation Board


Professor Emeritus David Ingram, PhD (Chair)

2002 -

David Ingram is Emeritus Professor of Health Informatics at UCL, President of the openEHR Foundation and a Trustee of the OpenEyes Charity. He was appointed to the first Chair in Medical Informatics in the UK, in 1989, and went on to establish the UCL Centre for Health Informatics and Multiprofessional Education, in 1995, of which he was Director until his retirement in 2011.

David led the foundational health record architecture research of the GEHR Project, within the EU, starting in 1991. From this and subsequent projects and collaborations emerged the openEHR Foundation - of which he was Founding Chair from 2002-2012 - and principal contributions of CHIME colleagues towards the CEN and ISO 13606 standards.


Ian McNicoll, MBChB, MSc

Mar 2019 -

Ian is a former Scottish GP, and has been involved in healthcare informatics for nearly 30 years, working with and promoting openEHR technologies for the last 8 years, initially with Ocean Informatics and latterly as an independent consultant.

His current focus is on the promotion of the Apperta open e-health platform ecosystem, with openEHR at its core, and the development of a related Development Platform, adopted by NHS England as a key part of their Code4Health initiative.


2000 -

Sam Heard is a practicing clinician who has worked throughout his career in inner London (UK) and the Northern Territory (Australia) to assist the standardisation of health information to empower clinicians and their patients to improve health care and outcomes.

This work began with the Good European Health Record in the early 90s, continued through a long collaboration with Thomas Beale and CHIME at UCL, the establishment of Ocean Informatics as a commercial vehicle to assist in the vision and culminating in setting up the openEHR Foundation in London in 2002.

The work has continued as a Director of the openEHR Foundation, and CEO until 2012 and current board Chair of Ocean Health Systems. Sam was a foundation co-Chair of the HL7 EHR Technical Committee and has worked extensively with the UK and Australian national programs to utilise and refine the openEHR method.

Silje Ljosland Bakke, RN

Mar 2019 -

Silje is an informatician and a registered nurse, and has a clinical background in plastic, reconstructive and hand surgery as well as clinical research from the University Hospital of Northern Norway. She has worked in health IT for more than five years, first in the Bergen Hospital Trust and she’s now an information architect in the National ICT health trust for strategic IT cooperation in the Norwegian hospital system. She has been a leading figure in Norway’s national archetype governance since the start in 2013.

Thomas Beale

Oct 2016 -

Thomas's academic background is in Electrical Engineering (communications) and Computer Science. His earlier professional work was in real-time distributed control (SCADA) systems for power, gas and mining; investment management and finance, and document and software configuration management systems.

After participating in the GEHR project in 1994 with Prof David Ingram's team at CHIME, UCL (UK), he worked since 1998 on EHR architectures, and participated in international standards work (OMG HDTF, HL7, CEN TC/251) for many years. He is one of the founders of the openEHR Foundation, and principal editor of the specifications. He designed the archetype formalism (ADL) and object model (AOM), now an ISO standard. He ran the Architecture Review Board 2005 - 2008.

He has published a number of papers in health informatics and has also presented widely on EHRs, e-Health and archetypes.

Tomaž Gornik

Mar 2019 -

Tomaž is the CEO of Better and an experienced leader of a large group of developers building world-class software products for more than 30 years. He is always challenging his team to build better software using state-of-the-art technology, architectures and processes. He has a deep understanding of software platforms, architecture, deployment and business models.

Tomaž has a proven track record delivering innovative turn-key solutions for large clients in telecommunications, finance and healthcare. He has been speaker at conferences including TeleManagement Forum, HIMSS and Health 2.0.


Past members

Bill Aylward MD, MA, MB, BChir, FRCS, FRCOphth

Member (2013 - Nov 2018)

Dr Bill Aylward is a senior Vitreoretinal Surgeon at Moorfields Eye Hospital. He has published over 100 peer-reviewed papers, and 9 book chapters. He is the lead author of the highly regarded Video Atlas of Vitreoretinal Surgery.

before writing his MD thesis following two and a half years in Sydney working with Professor Frank Billson. He obtained further residency training at Moorfields, trained as a fellow with Peter Leaver in vitreoretinal surgery, and then with Don Gass in Medical Retina at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in Miami.

He has been a consultant at Moorfields since 1994, and was Medical Director from 2002 to 2010. He is Chairman of the Informatics and Audit Committee of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists, and a member of their Professional Standards Committee. He is an international board member for the American Society of Retinal Specialists, and is Vice president of the Club Jules Gonin. He was a founder member of Euretina, and served as President from 2009 to 2011. He is currently director of the OpenEyes collaborative development of a state of the art electronic patient record for ophthalmology.

Dipak Kalra, PhD, FRCGP

Member (01/01/2012 - 28/02/2015)

Dipak Kalra was Clinical Professor of Health Informatics at University College London, United Kingdom. He is President of the European Institute for Health Records (EuroRec) and a past Director of the openEHR Foundation.

Dipak plays a leading international role in research and development of electronic health record architectures and systems, including the requirements and models needed to ensure the robust long-term preservation of clinical meaning and protection of privacy. He leads the development of CEN and ISO standards on EHR interoperability, personal health records, EHR requirements, and has contributed to several EHR security and confidentiality standards.

Dipak is involved in European research on EHR system quality labelling, semantic interoperability and clinical knowledge discovery. He leads a EU Network of Excellence on semantic interoperability, and a project to develop a European roadmap on patient empowerment innovations. He leads the Managing Entity for a €16m Innovative Medicines Initiatives on the re-use of electronic health record information for clinical research, EHR4CR, alongside ten global pharmaceutical companies. He is also a partner in another IMI project, EMIF, on the development of a European clinical research platform federating multiple population health and cohort studies.

Jussara Rötzsch, MD

Member (2012 - 28/02/2015)

Jussara Rötzsch has a Masters in Psychiatry and today specialises in health informatics and e-health strategy. She was also a consultant to the Brazil Ministry of Health in the national EHR project until 2018. She worked as Business Analyst of the exchange content model of TISS project (Nationwide Electonic Health Information Exchange between health plans and healthcare providers).

Jussara was awarded personality of the year in the category Incentivating E-business of Brasilian Association of E-business in 2006 and awarded at WoHIT'07 (World of Health IT Conference Award) in Vienna in 2007. Chair of National Committee for Health Information Standards and Interoperability within Private Health Insurance market (COPISS), from 2006 to 2009. Convener of WG 3- Semantic Content of HIT Commitee of Brazilian Standards Development Organization (ABNT) from 2007 to 2009.


Contact Board of Governors